Asia School of Business

Edit Content

Shahri Shamsuddin

Home » About » The Board of Governors » Shahri Shamsuddin

President & Group CEO, Sapura Group


Tan Sri Shahril Shamsuddin is President and Group Chief Executive Officer of Sapura Group, a conglomerate of diverse business portfolios including secured communications technologies, automotive manufacturing, oil and gas, aviation and property development. Under his stewardship, Sapura Group through Sapura Secured Technologies now has more than two decades of experience in leading Mission Critical Technology Innovation and a key service provider in Defence Electronics and Homeland Security Solutions.

Tan Sri Shahril has been well-recognised for his contributions to the industry, particularly in promoting technology development. He was conferred an Honorary Doctorate in Technology Management by the Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) in 2013 and is a member of the Boards of Trustees of the UTM Endowment Fund.  In 2020, Tan Sri Shahril was appointed as Director of Sapura Networks and Chairman of the Malaysian National Applied Research and Development Centre (MIMOS) to spearhead the agency’s leading technological innovation and capabilities.

Until early 2021, S Tan Sri Shahril was President and Group Chief Executive Officer of Sapura Energy. He has spearheaded the Group’s transformation from a domestic-focused oil & gas contractor to a global integrated oil & gas services and solutions provider with operations across the entire upstream value chain, since 2003.

During his tenure, Sapura Energy has received numerous accolades, including the Fabulous 50 listing by Forbes Asia in 2013 and 2014, Asia’s Overall Best Managed Company in Natural Resources by FinanceAsia in 2014, New Upstream Player of the Year award by The Oil & Gas Year Malaysia in 2015, Marginal Oil Fields Development Company of the Year award by Frost & Sullivan in 2015, Best Pipe Layer Operator award by Petrobras in 2018 and APAC Company of the Year (Energy Services, Offshore and Marine) by Energy Council in 2019.

He was honoured with the Order of Rio Branco by the government of Brazil in 2019 and was the recipient of the Legion d’Honneur by the Republic of France in 2007. Ernst & Young hailed Tan Sri Shahril as Malaysia’s Entrepreneur of the Year in 2009 and was presented the Man of the Year award by The Oil & Gas Year Malaysia in 2014. Tan Sri Shahril is a member of the World Economic Forum’s ASEAN Regional Strategy Group, the Asian Executive Board of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s (MIT) Sloan School of Management, and the Board of Governors of the Asia School of Business, a collaboration between MIT Sloan and Bank Negara Malaysia.

He is also chairman of the Malaysia-Brazil Business Council, a member of the International Advisory Council of the Singapore Management University and was appointed a Board member of the Perdana Leadership Foundation in 2019. Shahril is also an Adjunct Professor at Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM)’s Graduate School of Business. Tan Sri Shahril obtained an M.Sc. in Management of Technology from MIT Sloan and graduated from the California Polytechnic State University with a B.Sc. in Industrial Technology