Asia School of Business

Edit Content

Megat Zaharuddin

Home » About » The Board of Governors » Megat Zaharuddin

Former Chairman of Malayan Banking Berhad (Maybank) and Former Chairman of Federal Land Development Authority (FELDA)


Tan Sri Dato’ Megat Zaharuddin is the Former Chairman of Maybank (Malaysia’s largest public-listed company) and Former Chairman of FELDA (since 1956, Malaysian agency responsible for rural land settlement schemes).

He has held many positions in the corporate world as well as in Malaysian government entities. He retired from an outstanding 31-year executive career internationally in the Royal Dutch Shell group of companies as Regional Business Chief Executive Officer/Managing Director of its Shell Exploration and Production B.V. arm in 2004. In non-executive roles of various durations between 2004 and 2022, he has been Chairman and Director of Maybank and its subsidiaries Maybank Investment Berhad, MaybanAgeas Holdings, Etiqa Insurance and Takaful, and Maybank Indonesia/Bank Internasional Indonesia), Chairman and Director of Maxis Communications Berhad, Director of Woodside Petroleum Limited, and Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of Sapura Energy Berhad.

Tan Sri Dato’ Megat Zaharuddin also served as Chairman of the Malaysian Rubber Board, FELDA, PADU (Malaysian Education and Performance Delivery Unit), and as Director of the Capital Markets Development Fund, as well as other agencies and entities of the Malaysian Government over various periods between 1998 and 2019.

He has been a Director of ICLIF from 2004 before he joined the Board of Governors of the Asia School of Business in 2019. He is President of the Saujana Golf and Country Club in Malaysia.