President & Group CEO,
Sapura Energy Berhad

Tan Sri Shahril Shamsuddin is President and Group Chief Executive Officer of Sapura Energy. Since 2003, he has spearheaded the Group’s transformation from a domestic-focused oil & gas contractor to a global integrated oil & gas services and solutions provider with operations across the entire upstream value chain.

Under Tan Sri Shahril’s stewardship, Sapura Energy has received numerous accolades, including the Fabulous 50 listing by Forbes Asia in 2013 and 2014, Asia’s Overall Best Managed Company in Natural Resources by Finance Asia in 2014, New Upstream Player of the Year award by The Oil & Gas Year Malaysia in 2015, Marginal Oil Fields Development Company of the Year award by Frost & Sullivan in 2015, Best Pipe Layer Operator award by Petrobras in 2018 and APAC Company of the Year (Energy Services, Offshore and Marine) by Energy Council in 2019.

Tan Sri Shahril himself has been recognised for his contributions to the industry and society. He was the recipient of the Legion d’Honneur by the Republic of France in 2007, Malaysia’s Entrepreneur of the Year award by Ernst & Young in 2009 and Man of the Year award by The Oil & Gas Year Malaysia in 2014. He was conferred an Honorary Doctorate in Technology Management by the Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM) in 2013. He is also a member of the Boards of Trustees of the UTM Endowment Fund and the Perdana Leadership Foundation.

Tan Sri Shahril is a member of the World Economic Forum’s ASEAN Regional Strategy Group, the Asian Executive Board of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology’s (MIT) Sloan School of Management, and the Board of Governors of the Asia School of Business, a collaboration between MIT Sloan and Bank Negara Malaysia, the Malaysian central bank.

Tan Sri Shahril obtained an M.Sc. in Management of Technology from MIT Sloan and graduated from the California Polytechnic State University with a B.Sc. in Industrial Technology.